2010 George Main Stakes Attracts Nine Nominations Lead by More Joyous

September 21st, 2010

On Saturday the esteemed Royal Randwick Racecourse will host the next feature meeting of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival highlighted by the $350,000 Group 1 George Main Stakes (1600m).

The 2010 George Main Stakes has attracted just nine weight-for-age stars at the nomination stage, a very small field considering the 20-horse capacity of the race.

But the small number of entries doesn’t detract from the quality of the gallopers or the competitive odds that will be open on the race for punters.

Many of the George Main Stakes nominees are also entered for the Moonee Valley features on Friday night so stay tuned for the final field

Of the nine George Main Stakes nominations, Gai Waterhouse’s More Joyous is the top early pick.

In sensational form this spring, four-year-old More Than Ready mare More Joyous has won both of her races this season including the Theo Marks Stakes last start and will be vying for her ninth career victory from just 12 starts.

If More Joyous runs and wins the 2010 George Main Stakes she will be the first female to claim victory since Ma Chiquita in 1986.

Waterhouse has also nominated More Joyous for the Group 3 Bill Ritchie Handicap (1400m) at the same meeting, where she would start as the topweight making the George Main a more attractive option.

More Joyous is likely to face some stiff competition from other turf champions including star stablemate Theseo.

Waterhouse is targeting the 2010 Cox Plate on October 23 with her multiple Group 1 wining seven-year-old, but is seeking other success on the way after Theseo cleaned up in the Chelmsford Stakes at Randwick earlier in the month.

Other notable entries for Saturday’s George Main Stakes are Chris Waller’s Danleigh and last year’s runner-up Black Piranha.

It is a bumper day of racing scheduled at Randwick on Saturday with three other Group features set to run including the Group 2 Stan Fox Stakes (1400m) where top three-year-olds Decision Time and Masquerader have been nominated.

The 2010 Yellowglen George Main Stakes final field of acceptances will be released later in the week and published here so bookmark this page.

In the meantime why not take a few minutes to sign up with Australia’s premier online bookie Ladbrokes.com.au, who will have the hottest odds on all of the spring features this season!

2010 Yellowglen George Main Stakes Nominations

No. Horse Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 BLACK PIRANHA Con Karakatsanis 116
3 DANLEIGH Chris Waller 117
4 EMPIRES CHOICE (NZ) Bart Cummings 102
5 GATHERING John P Thompson
6 MORE JOYOUS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 114
7 SNAPY HALO (ARG) John O’Shea 97
8 THESEO Gai Waterhouse 118
9 TRUSTING John P Thompson 99